flag patch Bosnia and Herzegovina

flag patch Bosnia and Herzegovina

Availability: In stock
Delivery time: 1-10 business days delivery time

Backpackflag/Flag Patch Bosnia

+ -
Add to cart

Size: 6.5 x 4 cm (2.56 x 1.57 inch)

The Bosnian flag consists of a blue base with seven, white five-pointed stars crossing the flag diagonally and vertically, and descending from left to right. Above and below the stars are two half stars. To the right of the stars lies a yellow isosceles triangle.

Meaning: The three points of the triangle stand for the three nation theory of Bosnia, representing the people who make up the nation. These are the Croats, Bosniaks and Serbs. The white stars represent Europe and they are meant to be infinite in number.

History: The current Bosnian flag was adopted on Feb. 4, 1998. The country received its independence on Apr. 5, 1992. It was formerly one of six federal units constituting Yugoslavia. This Bosnian flag replaces one that was used from 1992 to 1998.

Interesting facts: Originally the Bosnian flag was to make use of the United Nations flag's blue color, but this was changed to a darker blue to correspond with the flag of the European Union (source: worldflags101).