Hawaiian flag patch
AvailabilityIn stock

Size: 6.5 x 4 cm (2.56 x 1.57 inch)

The flag of Hawaii consists of eight alternating equal sized horizontal stripes of white, red and blue. In the top left quarter is the British Union Jack flag.

Meaning: The eight alternating stripes represent the eight main islands of Hawaii: Hawaii, Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau and Kahoolawe. The Union Jack represents Hawaii's historical ties to Britain.

History: The flag was adopted for state use in 1959, when Hawaii became a state of the USA. Hawaii is the 50th state of the union, gaining statehood on Aug. 21, 1959. The flag is based on a design which was first adopted by the Kingdom of Hawaii in 1816. It was originally adopted by Hawaii on May 20, 1845. The current flag design dates from Apr. 8, 1896.

Interesting Facts: Hawaii's state nickname is the Aloha State (source: worldflags101).

Shop more flags