flag patch Republic of the Congo
AvailabilityIn stock

Size: 6.5 x 4 cm (2.56 x 1.57 inch)

The Republic of the Congo's flag is divided diagonally with three stripes - the left stripe is green; the middle stripe is yellow; and the right stripe is red. The green and red stripes are of equal size, but the yellow stripe is narrower.

Meaning: The motto of the Republic of the Congo is 'Unite-Travail-Progress'; which translates to 'Unity-Labor-Progress'.

History: The Republic of the Congo flag was originally adopted on August 18, 1958. It was abandoned in 1970 and then readopted on June 10, 1991. The Republic of the Congo is often called Congo-Brazzaville, to avoid confusion with the Democratic Republic of Congo, known as Congo-Kinshasa (formerly Zaire). The country gained independence from France on August 15, 1960. The colors of the Republic of the Congo's flag are traditional Pan African colors that originate from the colors of the Ethiopian flag.

Interesting Facts: The country's previous flag which was in use from 1970 to 1992 was inspired by the Soviet flag (source: worldflags101).